LIFESTYLE MUSINGS: A love affair with Breakfast foods.

I do. Really do.

Waking up, looking forward to something. And done it.

It’s the happy stuff that tells you, you’ve started the day right.

A full belly, fresh made hot breakfast.

 

A love affair with Breakfast Foods.

A good breakfast consist of usually:

Fresh Fruit, maybe yoghurt or cereal

Mains, usually eggs and some meat (i.e Bacon) and vegetable (Like an omelette) combination if possible.

Bread or toast. And there is so many types of breads out there. I’d love a fresh baked warm baguette slathered with butter. Oh bliss!

Unsalted butter. Mm.. I love the smell of fresh creamy butter.

Yes I am greedy. I want the salty and the sweet on my table. Fresh, colourful and home made.

We have also been trying to eat and tryout more foods at home, beneficial produce for health.

So ingredients and variety at the moment is quite abundant. I love that, it enables me to tryout different dishes.

An along the way, read up or discuss about the health benefits behind it.

In the end, in my own perspective.

Food is not just something that fills up your belly, the presentation and different methods to produce a dish does round up one’s appreciation in life.

Every produce that goes in a dish can be beneficial health wise. The trick is to be able to mix the variety and eat it.

And moderately.

A love affair with Breakfast foods. Doing breakfast the almost 'Leopold' way. Toast & Tea simple.

Leopold: That thing is a damned hazard!

Kate: It’s just a toaster!

Leopold: Well, insertion of bread into that so-called toaster produces no toast at all, merely warm bread! Inserting the bread twice produces charcoal. So, clearly, to make proper toast it requires one and a half insertions, which is something for which the apparatus doesn’t begin to allow! One assumes that when the General of Electric built it, he might have tried using it. One assumes the General might take pride in his creations instead of just foisting them on an unsuspecting public.

Kate: You know something? Nobody gives a rat’s ass that you have to push the toast down twice. You know why? Because everybody pushes their toast down twice!

Leopold: Not where I come from.

Kate: Oh, right. Where you come from, toast is the result of reflection and study!

Leopold: Ah yes, you mock me. But perhaps one day when you’ve awoken from a pleasant slumber to the scent of a warm brioche smothered in marmalade and fresh creamery butter, you’ll understand that life is not solely composed of tasks, but tastes.

– Kate & Leoppold (2001), excerpt.


A love affair with Breakfast Foods (Omelette Ingredients)

There is so many ways to make an omelette.

Mushrooms. Bacon. Tomatoes. Onions. Chives. Cream. Butter. Olives. Garlic. etcetra

Make a french toast with eggs. Drizzle Maple Syrup, Honey or even Sugar.

Cut up some fresh fruits, make a fruit salad. Or eat them with yoghurt. Add some honey.

And you have had your first fibre intake of the day.

No artifical sugar, but honey. Isn’t that bliss?

A love affair with Breakfast Foods (Home made yoghurt combi)

I have been enjoying fresh home made yoghurt.

There is a certain joy to be able to participate in making your own foods.

Especially producing them. However simple the task is or tedious.

It takes time, but by taking time it reminds you to take life slow and sample it as it is.

Especially living in a urban country when one could easily depend on the supermarket or ready fast food or service with the restaurants, fast food outlets and hawker centers/coffeeshops.

And there’s so may types of breakfast to chose from.

Western. Asian. Middle Eastern. Indian. Muslim. French.Chinese. Etcetera!

Im going to look into the other cuisines for breakfast inspirations.

The challenenge will go into budgeting and sourcing for certain ingredients.

We will see.

For now, this is my little ode and comment on why breakfast is important and I enjoy it.

And how, many times in life, we sometime forget the simple things are what can make us happy and content.

A love affair with Breakfast foods. (My version of Savoury French Toast. A Dab of Butter, Fresh Ground Pepper & a Sprinkling of Italian Herbs. Magic.)

A love affair with Breakfast foods. (Say hello to Monsieur French Toast & Mis Honey. SWEET.)

A simple bread can be eaten in so many ways.

An egg could be made in so many.

Condiments and sauces brings your tastebuds to countries.

Vegetables regulate your bowels and vitamin boost.

A rasher of bacon or slice of ham could oomph up a simple sandwich. And tell you, please thank that pig that made this happen.

Breakfast – your first energy boost for the day.

A pot of aromatic tea or fragrant coffee.

And heaven have just arrived at your bedside. :)

2 thoughts on “LIFESTYLE MUSINGS: A love affair with Breakfast foods.

  1. This all sounds delicious and the pictures complement the post very well.

    I have always been one to skip breakfast for several reasons which you discussed in your post. I eat food to appreciate it. I eat in moderation and only the things that I really want to be putting in my mouth. I don’t bother with generic food; rather, I swoon before quality bread, real butter, ripe fruits, and fresh vegetables.

    Because breakfast occurs at a rushed part of my day, I don’t have time to whip of something fresh and delicious and thus, I tend to just skip the meal. Perhaps, I will now try to appreciate it and leave time for it more often.

    • Hello! Thank you for the heartfelt reply :) It made me smile.

      Wasn’t expecting it, glad to know I inspired someone else too today.

      I had always skipped Breakfast w/ a disregard in the past. Especially when I was schooling and working. Time always felt like there wasn’t enough.

      But I guess, by taking my health and making an effort to change eating habits lately sort of proved and changed my perspectives. Also, with more time on hand and taking time to enjoy it.
      And yes! Fresh food always kind of enables one to appreciate eating more. Don’t you think?

      P.S Your Header in your blog was something I had wanted for myself! Such coincidence! Penguin Classics, collaboration with Cover Designer; Coralie Bickford-Smith :)) Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

