QUICK MEALS: Oven Toaster Roasted Spiced Chicken, Apples and Cabbage

I have discovered the humble oven toaster to be a very efficient device to cook meals in the fastest possible time.

Like, cooking meats – really.

Usually, the humble role of the toaster was mainly for reheating and toasting breads.

This might require a little tweaking with different oven toasters, but I figure it should be almost the same.

A good idea for people who don’t own an oven, or want a super quick cooking time (Less than 15mins) on lazy/hungry days.

And when meals are quick, we don’t compromise with junk food or instant meals :) I like that.

 

The recipe for my Chicken – was inspired by Jamie Oliver’s Piri Piri chicken.

I wanted a little spice in my meals this week.

Dare I say, more middle eastern inspired from my side?

And because I didn’t have all the required ingredients on hand, so I decided it’s time to make use of the spices I do have at home.

 

I am using de-boned Chicken Thigh Steaks.

As for the sides of Vegetable and Fruit to balance out the Protein, a quick toss of Herbs and in to the oven :) Quick yes?

This is a one dish meal.

 

INGREDIENTS (Chicken) – 8 Servings

 

5 Cloves Garlic

5cm Fresh Ginger

Lemon Zest from 1 Lemon

Juice from 1/2 Lemon

1 1/2 Tbs Honey

1 1/2 Tbs White Pepper

1 1/2 Tbs Dried Rosemary

2 Tbs Cinnamon Powder

2 Tbs Saffron Powder

1 1/2 Tbs Fennel Seeds – Whole

Seasoned Salt (I used Lawry’s Seasoned Salt, you can just use regular salt)

 

Spices and Fresh Ingredients for marinating the Chicken

METHOD

  • Pound all the ingredients together in a stone mortar (You can use a blender), except the honey. The juice from the lemon will give the crushed ingredients a paste like consistency.
  • Mix in the honey, and rub the paste over the chicken steaks.
  • Store your chicken in a Tupperware and leave to refrigerate overnight (If you can). This will enable the spices to marinate the chicken properly and infused the meat with the flavours.

Pounding my spices in a Stone Mortar. This is a traditional method used for Peranakan, Malay and even Chinese foods in Singapore.

INGREDIENTS (APPLES) – 2 Servings

  • 1 Gala Apple
  • 1/4 Tbs Cinnamon Powder
  • 1/4 Tbs Dried Majoram
  • Dash of Lawry’s Seasoned Salt (You can use regular salt)
I chose Dried Majoram for it’s slightly grassy smell, which I hope will complement the fruity sweetness of the apple. Not to overpower it with the stronger smell of other herbs. Cinnamon always complement apples, and because the chicken has the same spice. I hoped it will not complicate the palate too much in terms of taste. But balance the spice from the chicken and salty from the cabbage with a tinge of sweet.

Gala apples are small and are usually red with a portion being greenish or yellow-green, vertically striped. Gala apples are fairly resistant to bruising and are sweet, grainy, with a mild flavor and a thinner skin than most apples. Quality indices include firmness, crispness, and sweetness. – Wikipedia

METHOD

  • Slice the Apple
  • Quick Toss of the seasoning with the apples and place them neatly on the oven tray

Here's my sliced and seasoned Cabbage and Apples :)

Up close.. Beautiful colours isn't it?

 

INGREDIENTS (Cabbage) – 2 Servings

  • 6 Leaves of White Cabbage
  • 1/4 Tbs Dried Oregano
  • Dash of Lawry’s Seasoned Salt (You can use regular salt)
  • Dash of White Pepper
I included a side of cabbage to balance the meal with greens. Also because I wanted a subtle salty dish to complement the sweet from the apples and spice from the chicken. Which is  the main dish and holds a heavier taste for the palate.

METHOD

  • Slice the Cabbage into strips.
  • Quick Toss of the seasoning with the cabbage and place them neatly on the oven tray

Pop everything in the oven. I sliced my piece of whole chicken thigh into half - My diet version. Ha!. Cook it for approximately 15mins. (My toaster oven is really hot)

Voila! I feel happy looking at the colours of the dish again :) Oh yes, I toasted a slice of wholemeal bread, slathered butter & some honey. Carbs = Dessert.

Bon Appetit!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

