FOOD STEPS: Cold Soba Noodles + Dipping Sauce

Cold Soba served in a Neo-Classical Japanese restaurant in Antique Street, Omotesando.

I have been missing Tokyo a tad  lately.

So I decided to make a Japanese meal tonight – Remniscence much?.

Soba have been my favourite japanese type of noodle and I like how Zaru Soba is served cold and simple.

I had it on my first trip to Tokyo upon request while dining out with colleagues one night and miss the taste.

So here’s my improvised take, with some Japanese products I picked up from Daiso the other day and supermarkets here in Singapore. On a warm weather, what’s more enjoyable than a chill bowl of noodles while watching Japan Hour on CNA this Saturday?

Here’s a breakdown of japanese food terms:

  • Soba, basically buckwheat noodles.
  • Cold soba noodles are typically served in zaru, which means bamboo basket in Japanese. Since I am not going to serve them in the traditional way, this dish will not be called Zaru Soba in my post :)
  • Kizami Nori are Dried sheets of seaweed cut into fine stripes.

As I will be using Katsuo Atsukezuritsuyu than making the dipping sauce from scratch, I will also type in the ingredients list from the bottle of sauce for your better understanding:

Soya Sauce, Dried Bonito extract, Dried Mackerel extract, Sugar

  • Apparently Skipjack Tuna/Arctic Bonito/Oceanic Bonito (via wikipedia)  is known as katsuo, and is commonly smoked and dried to make katsuobushi, the central ingredient in making dashi (fish stock). Dashi is one of the key ingredient to make a traditional dipping sauce.
  • Suyu I presume would mean Soba Dipping sauce. Correct me if I am wrong.

***********************************************

Japanese Products used for making Cold Soba + Dipping Sauce.

Other Ingredients
Nori (Thin Strips) – Garnish
Toasted Sesame Seeds – Garnish (I will be replacing with Flax Seeds)

200g Zaru Soba (For 2 pax portion)

STEPS:

  • Bring a pan of water to a boil.
  • Add your Soba noodles ad cook for 4-5minutes.
  • Drain your noodles in a strainer.
  • Wash noodles under cold running water until the water runs clear.
  • Store noodles in the refrigerator to chill until it’s time to eat!
  • *TIP: You can also soak your Soba in Ice & Water to chill it immediately.

    Cold Soba + Dipping Sauce

Ingredients for Dipping Sauce
1/2 bowl of soba sauce (I used Katsuo Atsukezuritsuyu from Daiso)
11/2 bowl of water
Mirin to taste
2 stalk of spring onion (Sliced)

STEPS:

  • Bring a pan of water to a boil.
  • Add your Soba Sauce and Mirin to taste.
  • Simmer for a minute.
  • Set aside to cool, put it in the firidge to chill!
  • Garnish with spring onions when served with soba or as a side condiment.

    Cold Soba + Dippin Sauce (Garnish)

I also cut up some Dragon Fruit for dessert (I guess it isn’t as Japanese as it mean to be) ha.

I love the pretty Rosette garnish, a sweet coconut glutinous dessert my sister had brought back from Bangkok!

Leave a Reply

