FOODSTEPS: Christmas Feast 2011, a recap of all the food I made that day!

So, Christmas have come and gone!

Am I too late to post up my little work of art after a round of hard work in the kitchen up to the point of laying them all out on the dining table?

YES!  Almost 6months too late to be exact.

Going through the photos bring such satisfaction though, whipping up dish after dish (with some kitchen help of course) was not a joke. Although tiring, it was such a reward to finally sit down to a nice table setting, candles lit and enjoying the food with family.

I will try to post up the recipes for some of the dishes randomly as I go along.

Mini Potato Carrot Pancakes
(Served w/ Cranberry & Dijon Mustard SOur Cream)

New England Clam Chowder
(Served w/ Thyme Lemon Breadcrumbs Topping)

Roasted Chicken & Mushroom Rice Stuffing
Chilli Ginger Roast Pork
Garlic Balsamic Roast Pork

Roasted Herbed Vegetables

Caramelised Pear and Walnut Pound Cake

Meantime, please enjoy the photos as much as I did.

This was the first time I tried to coordinate and cookup a storm for Christmas at home.

So, pat on my back anyone? :)

Caramelised Pear and Walnut Pound Cake

Caramelised Pear and Walnut Pound Cake

I added on a Buttercream coat, decorated the sides with some crushed Almond Slivers and finally on a whim – made some caramel and poured them over the cake!

Beautiful colours on the vegetables during preparation. I guess this is quite a non traditional Christmas dinner in many ways. I did have ingredients like Cranberry Sauce, Leg of Ham and Sweet Potatoes in my menu though. A little fusion of food from different parts of the world.

Mini Potato Carrot Pancakes (Served w/ Cranberry & Dijon Mustard Sour Cream)

New England Clam Chowder (Served w/ Thyme Lemon Breadcrumbs Topping)

 

Roasted Chicken & Mushroom Rice Stuffing, Chilli Ginger Roast Pork, Garlic Balsamic Roast Pork

Roasted Herbed Vegetables

Roasted Herbed Vegetables

 

Toasted vegetables are so easy! Just toss them in some herbs and salt+Pepper to taste and roast. I like how sweet and caramel tasting garlic becomes when it is roasted.

I got carried away in the end, and added on a mashed Sweet Potato side dish, the Leg of Ham was Mum’s contribution :)

Here’s a last look at the table setting. All I can say is..

WHAT A FEAST!

Christmas Feast 2011

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

