TRAVEL: Neo Classical Japanese Cuisine @ Omotesando (表参道), Tokyo

Dinner at Antique Street, in Omotesando, Aoyoma.

This particular restaurant, given me the opportunity to admire the modern way of serving Japanese food.

I love the simple elegance of the food presentation.

I am not sure what exactly Neo Classical meant for food, as it was mentioned in the restaurant website.

Nor can I ever explain the lure of quality Japanese Cuisine.

Made in its home country, served up by well trained staff. With an emphasis on service and efficiency.

As I eat it, I can only say I knew much effort had been put into making it.

A Japanese female seem to take up the role of hostess rightfully (Dare I say), at a table of men and foreigners.

Quietly dishing out the portions, as I admire the ease in her motions.

The body language, which I at once decipher to leave her be to do the job.

A business procedure perhaps? With a deep cultural influence behind proper etiquette at a semi  formal table?

Summing up a content Savory chapter in my Book of Japanese Gastronomic Adventures.

A starter served almost rustic like, of a mixed salad. Which sadly I have no memory of it’s taste.
A light salad stimulates the appetite as the first course of the meal.

At this point, as we Ooh-ed over the visual presentation, I was recommended by the sage Japanese eater of fish; to savor the fresh cuts with the Shiso leaf. Yum. Learning something new all the time.

Sashimi Platter, of describable cuts of fish in various textures. I recognize the Tuna (Maguro) and Squid (Ika). But no, no Salmon.

Sashimi is an important element in Japanese cuisine, where it is often served at the beginning of a meal as a palate cleanser and appetizer.

Pork Belly (Kakuni?), stewed in a soya sauce based broth until tender. A gently boiled egg to complement the overall taste, genius. Oozing, oozy egg yolk. Oh boy. Dab of incomprehensible random dab of mustard? Oh yes.

Grilled Chicken Patties (Teriyaki?), lightly coated in a sweet savory sauce.
Yuzu based dipping sauce on the side. Oh joy.

Zaru Soba served on a bamboo mat, cold with Tsuyu (Japanese soya sauce) and a desired sprinkling of spring onions. Again, so simple, so good.

All of this savoured with a pint of Yebisu Beer.

And again as told, one of the best beer in Japan. And the oldest brand in Tokyo.

I had learnt that ‘Akka Wine’ meant Red Wine.  Randomly written here, but will always be remembered.

At this point as I write all this down in memory, that there is a ritual to Japanese eating.

Food served deliberately to whet appetites, enables the diner to savor the tastes of the food ordered in sequence.

Revelations.

Omotesando via the Subway

REFERENCE:

Leave a Reply

