TRAVEL: Liyu Lake (鯉魚潭), Shoufeng Town, East Rift Valley, Hualien (Taiwan)

This is the part that got exciting.

As we drove out of the Lotus Garden, and Ms Chen starts telling me about the food I should try in Hualien (esp the city). To be honest, I wasn’t that into food for this leg of the trip. Suffice to say, I regretted it a little after.

Suddenly, she stops her car by the roadside railing. Exclaiming: “That’s YuShan (玉山) – “Jade Mountain”! Look look!” She points. I wasn’t sure what the fuss was about. I looked – Ok. I see this.

SAM_3468

The land at the bottom of the photo used to be a quarry for Marble.
And now to be converted into a Dam if I am not wrong.

It is the highest mountain in Taiwan. And was nominated for the 7 Wonders of the world.

Snow in Taiwan, imagine. 

Apparently it is a rare sight to even be able to view Yushan – Jade Mountain at this distance. Because the clouds usually covers the tip of the mountain. And Ms Chen had repeated 3 times that I am lucky. Very lucky to be able to view it from here. She has driven by this side of the road so many times and have yet to really see it.

Lol.. That’s when my camera and her phone camera flips out. Snap snap we go. She tells me, she is going to show it to her friends. And again, telling me how lucky I was. I guess it made her day too (Smiling as I am writing this).

Pure joy is infectious. And you knwo what? Hualien made my heart really happy.

I practically could feel rainbows shooting across the skies. It was that simple.

And I will be honest about this. TIP: It is not cheap for a solo traveller to travel on car because it is much cheaper to split it between 2-4 pax for a car. The bonus out of this is personalised service, and I can actually feel my tourguide making it a semi day out with me. Because it was a fuss free, sightseeing at times quiet contemplation and admiring of the scenery out the window day trip out for me.

P.S I also regretted not jumping out the car to run across a small field of yellow flowers and take a photo in it. Even when she was urging me to let loose and run in it like a kid! Suffice to say that is my 2nd regret.

We now move on to the official topic.

Pardon the short *INTERMISSION* above.

Towards the northern side of the Rift Valley, lies Liyu Lake (Carp Lake)

I will let the photos to speak for itself.

In a nutshell, a lovely afternoon spent strolling on the grounds. Would have been perfect if I brought food for a picnic.

The sun had started to shine again, and I had to change out of my warm gear to something light.

The view was breathtaking.

And my bones were slowly beginning to loosen and adapt to the mountain pace and air.

SAM_3472 SAM_3478 SAM_3479 SAM_3485

Tranquility.

A soft breeze, thank you Mr Sun.

Softly moving waters. The water was so clear and clean.

SAM_3509

SAM_3499

SAM_3513

And we arrive upon the Scenic Lookout.

The view – A little marred by manmade properties – Restaurant, shops etc.

But still wonderfully breathtaking.

SAM_3505

SAM_3508

SAM_3506

Please do go for the boats and pedal around the lake if you can.

SAM_3494

SAM_3497

Especially if you have an extra pair of legs to help. I couldn’t and that was something I wished I did have company for that day.

To go as far out and admire the other side of the lake at closer proximity.

SAM_3511

SAM_3514

It made me smile to see Plum Blossoms beginning to bloom.

Perfect ending for this place.

Final gist of this story?

Looking back, I should just have done everything – no hesistance blah blah blah.

Therefore then – No regrets.

Enough said.

 

Carp Lake Tourist Information Center
Opening hours: 08:30~17:30
Address: No.100, Huantan N. Rd., Shoufeng Township, Hualien County 974, Taiwan (R.O.C.)
Contact no. +886-3-864-1691

Admission: Free

Leave a Reply

