MEATLESS MONDAY: Eggplant Fritters and Yoghurt Dip

I came across this recipe a week or two ago.

Just yesterday, my mum came home with some Green Brinjals (Never eaten them before except the purple variety).

Middle Eastern cuisine has been striking my interest lately. Because of it’s diverse use of spices, which can be similar to S.E Asia yet prepared in an entirely different way.

So my way of travelling the world sometimes?

Cooking my way through new recipes, until I get there physically!

Recipe derived from Taste Of Beirut.

SAM_2828

Ingredients (1-2 servings)

1 eggplant, slivered

Batter: 
1/2 cup of flour (I used 酥浆粉 XO Crispy Flour)
Paprika, used sparingly for taste
Water (Enough to make a smooth batter)

Oil (I used Peanut oil for Frying)
Dip:

1/4 cup of tahini (Omitted since I don’t have it)
1 cloves of garlic, finely minced
1 sprig fresh parsley, minced
1 cup of yoghurt (Single portion)

SAM_2811

I fine minced the garlic instead of mashing it.

Mix Garlic, Chopped Parsley and dash of salt into yoghurt (Plain).

Mix Garlic, Chopped Parsley and dash of salt into yoghurt (Plain).

I used a Green Eggplant, as I was curious if there is a difference in taste from the usual variety. Joumand (Author of the blog) has kindly affirmed that it is ok to go without Tahini for the dip.

I have also used a different type of flour, to ensure guaranteed crispiness. It will cost a little more than your usual bag of flour.

黄记金钱豹 Jaguar  (酥浆粉 XO Crispy Flour), a product from Taiwan. Which can be bought at the wet market in Singapore.

If you can find it, buy it.

xx

Product photo via nextfoodstop

SAM_2815

SAM_2818

I mixed all the eggplant in the batter, while waiting for the oil to heat. Deep fry and serve the dish hot with yoghurt dip.

Personally, I liked the dish for it’s simple light taste. Makes for a good nibble on a weekend in front of the Television or a quick meal on lazy days.

Or served as a side/appetizer with a main meal.

2 thoughts on “MEATLESS MONDAY: Eggplant Fritters and Yoghurt Dip

Leave a Reply

