FOODSTEPS: Hokkaido Cream Stew (クリームシチュー ).

I must admit after tasting the dish,  that having Cream Stew in a meal is much more comforting than Japanese Curry on rice.

Especially on Cold weathers and Rainy Days.

This would be a new add on to my feel good List of foods.

Cream Cheese Stew with Tomato Fried Rice.

Because the Brand of Cream Stew Roux might not be available, colour and taste might vary.

For the brand I had used, the roux was a shade of notable Cheddar Yellow, and definitely tasted of Cheese.

I had bought the product from Tokyo, and the packaging seems a little different from those I have seen online.

Clare Obasan’s (Aunt Clare’s) Cream Cheese Stew  by Glico.

Here’s an adorable, singalong Ad by Glico.

Made me smile.

Making Yoshoku foods using pre-made Roux is a good way of introducing me to the initial taste of a dish.

Considered a Japanese Cuisine, yōshoku (洋食 western food) is a Japanized style of making western cuisine.  Originated during the Meiji Restoration.

While not the healthiest, with sometimes a more factory produced taste.

It still achieves it’s objectives – Putting a novelty meal on the dinner table in the shortest time possible. Yet still taste good enough to eat.

Somehow by eating dishes like these, it puts me into imagination mode that i am actually eating the fictional foods portrayed in Anime I have watched since childhood. Always looked so good to eat.

I have modified the Stew to my own preference.

SAM_3330

INGREDIENTS:

1 Litre Water

1/2 Kilograms  Pork (I used Wu Hua Rou, a Fattier Tender cut of meat)

2 Medium Carrots, Sliced

1 Medium Potato, Diced into medium cubes

2 Stalks Celery, Sliced

1 Medium Onion, Coarse Dice

1 Solo Garlic, Sliced

1 Green Broccoli, Segmented

25grams Unsalted Butter

3 Cubes Cream Cheese Stew Roux

Full Cream Milk

Black Pepper

SAM_3336

STEPS:

  • Heat a pan of water, add carrots, bring to a boil.
  • Blanche Broccoli to desired firmness.
  • Drain carrots from water, put aside. Keep the liquid.
  • Heat pan oven medium heat, melt butter.
  • Sautee Garlic and Onion, until transparent.
  • Add in the pork and fry till semi cooked.
  • Add in the diced Potatoes, Carrots and Celery, let it cook for 5minutes.
  • Pour in the reserved liquid, turn heat to low and let it simmer for 10 minutes.
  • Add in the Cream Stew Roux, keep stirring until the roux is incorporated into the liquid.
  • Add more water if needed. Simmer for another 5 minutes.
  • When the mixture starts to thicken, add in approx 250ml of milk. Add more if desired.
  • Add in the broccoli, Pepper to taste.
  • Serve hot.

OPINION:

I would use a 1:1 ratio of Milk to water. Because of how rich the dish can be. Also, because my roux tasted distinctly of Cheddar, for a 6pax Portion, I would reduce 4 cubes to just 3. And use more milk instead.

If you prefer a heavier stew, go on with 4 cubes and add milk to taste accordingly.

I believe by changing either recommendations above, would also tweak the taste a little. Either to dilute the creaminess OR lighten the creaminess by reducing the use of cheese roux.

         Pros: Fast to cook, tasty enough to eat.

         Cons: Roux based dishes usually coagulate when cold. Resulting in an unappetizing

presentation.

 

VERDICT:

Definitely a stew I would make again. Making this requires minimal seasoning, and the taste was just salty enough for me. But I would also try to make a ‘Start from Scratch’ approach, somehow I feel by using Cream Cheese with Milk, the end result would still be lighter than using a Pre made Roux.

And using only the typical ingredients just to know how it tastes like. No garlic!

Looking forward to making a Gratin with the last of my Roux Cubes!

Leave a Reply

