WHAT’S COOKIN’: Oyakodon 親子丼 (Japanese Chicken and Egg Rice Bowl)

I realised lately, now that I have been trying to make my own meals personally as much as possible.

That my preference towards everyday meals, are constantly veered towards straightforward recipes and easy preparations.

The number of ingredients are especially interesting, with the experimental palate with taste and textures.

But time, especially to enable myself to enjoy healthy meals with more self control over portions and variety.

Meals needs to be quick and easily prepared.

 

Also, with the curiosity to explore home cooked Japanese meals lately.

I can’t help, but begin to like to inculcate Japanese dishes and recipes into my meals.

Mainly for the simplicity of preparation and minimal ingredients used.

And usually can be eaten as a one dish meal.

It seems, a good grocery trip to the Japanese supermarket is in lieu.

 

Oyakodon 親子丼 is a type of Donburi, Rice Bowl Dish.

And neither is it a true traditional Japanese dish.

I served the dish with a Japanese side dish of homemade  Tsukemono 漬物, Kyuri Asazuke (Japanese Pickled Zucchini).

A recipe that I will post up soon.

 

Hot and down to earth meals are my favourite on rainy days (It is raining as I am blogging this all down).

Savoury sweet over rice. Have i mentioned eggs are my new favourite ingredient yet?

So much one can do with the humble egg.

Served with a ice cold glass of freshly made chin-chow (A sweet herb Jelly drink) with a squeeze of lime over.

I’d say i’m spending a pretty fusion afternoon not confusion mind you.

With the local South East Asian monsoon season for company.

A good book and a snuggle in bed, siesta would be nice.

 

Alas~

Assignment awaits me.

 

 

INGREDIENTS (Serves 2 Pax)
80g Minced Chicken
1/2  Sliced Onion

2 Tbsp Soy Sauce
2 Tbsp. Mirin
150ml Dashi broth (I substituted with homemade chicken stock)
2 Eggs (Lightly Beaten)
4 Mitsuba Japanese wild parsley (I substituted with Chinese Parsley)
2 Bowls of Steamed Rice

SAM_4310

Step 1 Add all the condiments into the pan and bring it to a boil. Simmer the onion for 2 minutes. Add in mince chicken and simmer for another minute.

Step 2 Lightly beat your egg.Make sure the yolks and white don’t mix too much. Skim foam from boiling mixture and discard.

Step 3 Pour Lightly Beaten egg over Chicken and Onion.

Step 4 Sprinkle Parsley over and let it simmer. Cover with a lid for about a minute or less.

Step 5 Pour the mixture over rice. Serve straight away, make sure the egg yolks are not too cooked. And the liquid has boiled down quite abit.

Step 5 Pour the mixture over rice. Serve straight away, make sure the egg yolks are not too cooked. And the liquid has boiled down quite abit.

Leave a Reply

